Secret: Building up others will, in turn, build you up

Mondays are just plain hard aren’t they? Although you may love what you are doing (you deserve to), Monday’s are tricky to initially get started. Ironically, I am starting my new job today at a local realtors office and am experiencing all kinds of emotions: excited for the possibilities, anxious for the unknown, and a bit sleepy. So I thought, why not start my day off with some positive self-talk and action steps to complete by the end of the day?Beginning today, I will be posting ways to grow and foster your authenticity to make your weeks more meaningful. And maybe I will be able to change your outlook on this beautiful, promising day of the week.

Monday Goal: Build up, not tear down

I am surrounded by a technology-filled world. I am surrounded by social media platforms that push me to give a false image of perfection. I am surrounded by people that have been taught to strive for this perfection. These same people often expect perfection from me too (even if they’ve never talked to me a day in their life…ha!).

Lord knows I am not perfect; I never will be. It is so easy to let that pull me down and I’m sure you’ve felt the same way before. Going into a Monday, you rack up a list of expectations you have to complete during the week. With these expectations come faces of people that you imagine pulling you down if you don’t succeed this week. It can be daunting, especially when many do not seem to be on your side.

So let all of my beautiful readers and I change that this Monday. Here’s the plan:

Action Step: When faced with pointing out someone’s flaw today, actively redirect your train of thought and instead, change your thought to build them up. 

  1. We all have some people in our lives that totally drive us bonkers. Let’s all be real here, it’s safe. You see them today whether they are just walking past or beginning a conversation. Take a deep breath.
  2. As your mind begins traveling down the dangerous road of judgment, tell your navigator to REDIRECT. The cool thing is, you are in COMPLETE control of your navigator so you direct the way this entire day goes.
    • Actually picture turning the little navigator in your head 180 degrees so they are turning the opposite way. The power of visualization is strong friends.
  3. Point out something that they are doing to make the world a better place. Whether it be something they do at work or for their family or for others in the community, no reason is wrong! Everyone has good in them, just like everyone has some faults. Again, let’s be real truthful to ourselves here.
  4. Walk away feeling refreshed and freed from your negative mindset. Give your inward navigator a pat on the back for a job well done.
  5. If you’re feeling adventurous, try this method again on another person.
  6. And again!
  7. Before you know it, you’re creating small pathways in your brain that reinforces this behavior. We are creating habits. Most importantly, healthy habits!

(You better believe I will be using this in my classroom in a few short years. I bet we can all remember the drama of middle school!)

Let us realize that perfection is unattainable and quite boring. Let us embrace our mess-ups and rejoice in our strengths. When we build each other up, even in the smallest of moments, we cultivate a sense of belief inside this person that pushes them to do even more. Imagine the world full of people doing a lot of what they are passionate about and good at because of others constantly encouraging them through the ups and downs. Pretty beautiful isn’t it?

When you build others up today, you will feel a warm, fuzzy light flicker inside of you; a feeling that will whisper confidence in your own day because when you start noticing others greatness, it will be a little easier to notice your own.

How do you build others up in your day to day life? Let’s get a conversation started!

“This is why I write these things when I am absent, that when I come I may not have to be harsh in my use of authority- the authority the Lord gave me for building you up, not for tearing you down.” 2 Corinthians 13:10

Leave a Reply

